Niba Nirmal-accepted as a 2019 Yale Cienca Scholar.

Wednesday, December 5, 2018
UPGG 2nd year student, Niba Nirmal was accepted as a 2019 Yale Cienca Scholar.      

Video Link- Repercussions of Human Gene-Editing Panel Discussion Dec 6, 2018

Tuesday, December 4, 2018
"On Monday this week, the world found out for the first time via an Associated Press article ( that Dr. He Jiankui, from the Southern University of Science and Technology of China in Shenzhen, claimed to have made the world’s first genetically... Read More »

UPGG 2018 Annual Retreat Photo

Monday, October 8, 2018

Dionna Gamble Receives Fellowship

Monday, September 3, 2018
Dionna Gamble, a UPGG PhD candidate in the Jinks-Robertson lab, has been awarded a NIGMS Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award Individual Predoctoral Fellowship (F31). This award will support her research which centers around the repair of DNA double-strand breaks (DSBs) via... Read More »

UPGG Annual Retreat October 5-7, 2018

Friday, August 31, 2018
The UPGG is headed to a mountain resort for the 2018 annual program retreat.  The retreat will take place from October 5-7, 2018 at the Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure.

Marcy Speer Award Winners

Thursday, August 23, 2018
Laavanya Sankaranarayanan is the 2018-19 recipient of the Marcy Speer Fellowship Award.  Katie Walzer from the Chi lab and Amy Webster from the Baugh lab were both awarded the Marcy Speer Scientific Paper Award.  Congrats to all 3 UPGG award winners  

UPGG Welcome Picnic on August 21 at 5:30p

Wednesday, July 11, 2018
The University Program in Genetics and Genomics (UPGG) will welcome 10 new students to the program.  Please join us for a welcome picnic on Tuesday, August 21, 5:30p at the Duke Forest Rigsbee Shleter-Gate F.

Katharine Korunes Awarded an NSF GRIP (Graduate Research Internship Program) for fall 2018

Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Katharine Korunes, a 4th year UPGG student from the Noor lab was awarded an NSF GRIP (Graduate Research Internship Program) for fall 2018.  This is a program offered to NSF graduate fellows (GRFP-recipients), and it allows Fellows to conduct research and engage in professional development... Read More »

Rachel Newcomb interviews UPGG Alumna

Thursday, February 8, 2018
The Graduate School has just published a profile of UPGG alumna Felicia Hawthorne on the professional development blog.  Current UPGG 2nd year student, Rachel Newcomb wrote and conducted the interview.  You can find the full article by clicking on the link below. https://gradschool.... Read More »

2 Sigma Xi Grants-Rylee Hackley and Niba Nirmal

Wednesday, January 10, 2018
UPGG first year students, Rylee Hackley and Niba Nirmal received Sigma Xi grants.  Rylee received her grant from work in the Schmid lab titled  "Evolution of a Global Metabolic Network in Halophilic Archaea.".  Niba received her grant from work in the Sherwood lab titled The Role of... Read More »