Six UPGG Faculty Members Receive Honors

Professor Susan Alberts (Department of Biology) has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. This prestigious Academy was founded in 1790. Congratulations, Dr. Alberts. In addition, five of our UPGG faculty members were recently awarded Duke University Distinguished Professorships. Thomas Mitchell-Olds is now the Newman Ivey White Professor of Biology. Frederik Nijhout is now the John Franklin Crowell Professor of Biology. Kenneth Poss is now a James B. Duke Professor of Cell Biology. Lingchong You is now the Paul Ruffin Scarborough Associate Professor of Engineering. Douglas Marchuk is now a James B. Duke Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology. Congratulations to all of these UPGG faculty members.